RNASA FOUNDATION



Members of the Foundation - standing left to right: Billy Ray Smith, Robert J. Wren, Harold L. Neely, John J. Francis, Robert W. Mitchell, Charles S. Hardwick, Richard L. Griffin, Ronald K. Billie, Charles A. Jacobson, David Hamblin, Seated left to right: John T. Watson, Jack R. Lister, Charles H. Hartman (Chairman), Owen G. Morris, Floyd B. Boze. Not Shown: Clay W.G. Fulcher.

The inspiration to establish a national award for space achievement grew naturally from the Space Center Rotary Club of Houston. The club has always enjoyed a close association with the space program and counts many of America's space pioneers among its members.

In 1985, the club organized a special committee to create an award commemorating the greatest individual contributions to America's space program. The committee established the Rotary National Award for Space Achievement Foundation, a non-profit organization founded for the purpose of recognizing outstand-

ing individual achievement in space, while creating greater public awareness of the benefits of space exploration.

The premier award ceremony was held in March 1987, with the first presentation of the National Space Trophy. Since then the annual event has grown in recognition and attendance. In 1989, the Foundation added four Stellar Awards to honor individuals who have made career-long contributions to the space program. An Executive Forum was also added in 1989 to give members of the industry insight into current space topics by key representatives of the U.S. space

program. This year sees the introduction of a new lifetime achievement award, The Corona. The addition of the special award continues the Foundation's dedication to recognizing excellence in space.

The Foundation appreciates the tremendous interest and assistance it has received from the aerospace industry, NASA and the Department of Defense. This support assures the continued growth and success of The National Space Award.