

RNASA
Foundation Committee
Members
Back L to R: Bill Geissler,
Richard Jackson, Dr. L. Jean
Walker, Bob Wren, Marianne
Dyson; Front L to R: Sheila Self, Bill
Taylor, Rodolfo Gonzales (Secretary), Floyd Bennett (Chairman),
Duane Ross, Vissett Sun. Not
pictured: Ann Charles, Gary
Johnson, Tim Kropp (Treasurer),
Jack Lister, Jennifer Mitchell, Frank
Perez, Bill Vantine, John Wilkins.

Photo by Robert

Markowitz.

RNASA FOUNDATION

The Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation was established in 1985 by the Space Center Rotary Club to organize and coordinate an annual awards event to recognize outstanding achievements in space and create greater public awareness of the benefits of space exploration.

People who have made notable contributions in the field of space exploration are nominated by individuals and by government, industry, and professional organizations. The RNASA Foundation's prestigious board of advisors (page 23) then vote to choose the winner (page 3-5). The confidential votes are tabulated by an independent accounting firm. The winner is presented with the national space trophy at the annual banquet celebration.

Stellar awards have become an increasingly important part of the annual RNASA banquet events. Nominations for stellar awards for individual and team achievements are solicited from NASA, the military, and industry leaders in human and unmanned spaceflight programs. In order to ensure recognition of individuals at all stages of their careers, nominations are solicited in four categories; Early-career (to age 33), middle-career (age 34-50), late-career (over age 50), and teams. Nominations (pages 18-24) are reviewed and winners selected by a distinguished panel whose decisions are based on which accomplishments hold the greatest promise for furthering future successes in space.

All Stellar award nominees are invited for a special day of activities at Johnson Space Center followed by the evening's banquet where the winners are presented with trophies (page 22). This year's nominees were treated to a tour and special luncheon event with Apollo astronaut and 2000 trophy winner John Young who recently retired from NASA. The RNASA Foundation congratulates all the nominees for their hard work on behalf of our space program.

The RNASA foundation is a nonprofit organization supported by sales of banquet tickets and program book advertisements. Proceeds remaining after this year's event will be donated to an organization involved in aerospace education. The Foundation is grateful for the enthusiasm and support it has received from the aerospace industry, educational organizations, NASA, and the Department of Defense. This support assures the continued recognition of outstanding achievements by United States' citizens in the area of space exploration.

Continued from previous page

William L. Todd of United Space Alliance - Significant contributions to long-duration human spaceflight mission training and operations concepts, as project lead of NASA Extreme Environments for Mission Operations project utilizing the Aguarius undersea laboratory.

Rodolfo R. Valdez of Hamilton Sundstrand - Exceptional leadership, management, and dedication to the Shuttle program and the Mechanical Flight Control Return-to-Flight initiative.

Stephen Vrana of GHG Corp. - Outstanding commitment, hard work, and professional technical excellence providing ISS structural and mechanical engineering expertise to the Structural & Mechanical Subsystem Problem Resolution team.

J. Britt Walters of NASA Johnson Space Center - Tireless efforts to coordinate the support of the Space and Life Sciences Directorate to the International Space Station and the Space Shuttle programs.

Michael G. Wood of The Boeing Company - Exemplary leadership of the design, development, and sustaining engineering of the International Space Station thermal & environmental control system.

Warren H. Woodworth of United Space Alliance -Outstanding creativity and leadership in solving complex orbiter structural problems enabling on-time accomplishment of major program milestones and avoiding significant rework costs.

Continued next page