Posted: Tuesday, May 1, 2012 11:46 am

## Space gala crowd of 900 toasts Mike Coats

Michael Coats as he was presented the National Space Trophy – one of the largest crowds in the gala's 26-year history.

Tom Stafford, Eileen Collins, Glynn Lunney, Tommy Holloway, Mike Griffin and Chris Kraft.]]>

Michael Griffin, Kennedy Space Center Director *Bob Cabana* and former Director *Bill Parsons, JSC Deputy Director Ellen Ochoa*, Associate Directors *Milt Heflin and Melanie Saunders*, Safety Director *Terrence Wilcutt, Life Sciences Director Dr. Jeffrey Davis*, General Consul *Bernard Roan* and Space Station Program Manager *Mike Suffredini* – many with their spouses. ]]>

Bill Staples and his wife, *Darlene* were in the black-tie crowd, as were Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership President *Bob Mitchell* and his wife, *Brenda;* National Space Biomedical Research Institute CEO *Dr. Jeffrey Sutton;* Methodist Hospital Cardiology Chairman *Dr. Miguel Quinones,* and DeBakey Financial CEO *Denis A. DeBakey,* son of the late *Dr. Michael DeBakey,* who was honored for his many controbutions to mankind at the RNASA Gala 15 years ago.]]>

John Elbon with his wife, *Leigh;* United Space Alliance President *Ginger Barnes* and husband, *Toby;* Barrios Technology President *Sandra Johnson;* Orbital Sciences Senior VP *Frank Culbertson;* GeoControl Systems VP *Michael Zarcaro* and his wife, *Sarah;* SAIC Vice President *David Cazes* and his wife, *Denise*. ]]>

Dr. Joe Kerwin, MRI Technologies VP *Tim Kropp*; Bastion Technologies President *Jorge Hernandez* with his wife, *Rosi*; Cimarron VP *Randy Stone* and his wife, *Susan*; ERC Principal *Darryl Smith* and his wife, *Monique*; MEI Technologies CEO *Ed Muniz* with wife, *Alicia*; and Oceaneering VP and GM *Mike Bloomfield*, with his wife, *Lori*.]]>

Robert Behnken and Megan McArthur, who presented the Stellar Awards. ]]>

John Casper, Don McMonagle, Ellen Ochoa, Brian Duffy, Stephen Smith, Janet Kavandi, Karen Nyberg, Cathy Coleman, Sandra Magnus, Steve Lindsey, Doug Hurley, Terry Wilcutt, Thomas Stafford, Gregory Johnson, Jerry Ross, Michael Fincke, Garrett Reisman, plus astronaut wives *Lorna Onizuka, Cheryl McNail and Susan Husband, Thornton*.]]>

Mike Dennard, RNASA Chairman Rodolfo Gonzalez with his wife, Anangela; Owen and Joyce Morris, Mike and Tery Hernandez, Becky Reitz and John Gay; Gary and Karen Johnson, Tim Kropp, Floyd and Carolyn Bennett, Phil Harris, Leslie and Dr. Ted Cummings, Bill and Susan Taylor, Kippy Caraway, Wayne

and Marilyn Musial, Darryl and Monique Smith, Pam Culpepper and Peter Cronk, Frank and Rosalind Perez, Bill and Joan Geissler, Dr. Jean Walker, Adrienne and Dr. Vissett Sun and Jordis and Bob Wren.]]>

Mike Sullivan, State Sen. *Mike Jackson*, former Congressman *Nick Lampson*, *Al and Natalie Ong, Ted and Marianne Dyson*, *Nanette Faget*, *the Brian Lunneys*, *Jenny Mitchell*, *Sue and Kim Morris*, *Duane and Linda Ross*, *Pat and Wendell Wilson*, *Yvette and John Shannon*, plus Space City Films President *Marcus Havican*, who thrilled the audience with a video recap of the year in space.]]>